Better late than never, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

So the third In fabula-divinos story is ‘Stay Out of the Park’ by Janett L Grady. This is Janett’s third attempt at getting a story in – three different stories as well, pointing to her diversity and her output.

Yet another story about death. Either this says something about the world we’re living in, or about me. Or both. ๐Ÿ™‚

Janett’s story was the first I opened, and it instantly grabbed me. It’s romantic – not in the genre sense, being a happily ever after story, but in the ย love-so-strong-will-overcome-anything sense (although don’t get caught up in thinking that it’s a happy story – it’s not). And it deals with those classic life questions of what is death and what comes after, which I always find interesting. It did it in a way that was to me unique and with an interesting, flawed hero.

I read through the rest of the stories and it was hard to concentrate, because Janett’s resonated so deeply with me. There were two stories near the end that I also found interesting, and thought I’d do some great work with. But at the end of the day, my heart was still turning to Janett’s story and so I chose it.

In that respect, this was the easiest choice so far. Janett is the first non-Australian writer, so that’s going to be interesting. I’ve not edited a non-Australian before and I wonder if there will be a difference in approach or whether a writer is a writer is a writer. I know the time difference will be a factor and it could well be that Janett and I need to take an extra couple of days to get things done. So don’t be surprised if we don’t hit July 1 for the publication date.

