Tags

, , , ,

Following Kaaron Warren’s post on mentoring last week, one of her mentees, Jo Anderton, now talks about her side of the process.

***

TheBoneChimeSong-Cover-193x300I am extremely grateful to my mentors — Kaaron Warren, who mentored me through the AHWA program, and Marianne de Pierres whose mentorship has been informal, but invaluable.

Kaaron and I worked through short stories together, and I can’t tell you how useful her advice has been. I’m a big fan of her work (who isn’t?) not only because her stories are awesome, but because I’ve always felt a kind of connection to them. Her imagery and voice really speak to me, and I think this was a big part of why it worked so well to have her as my mentor.

I met Marianne through the Orbit manuscript development program and we have stayed in contact since. I can quite honestly say that I wouldn’t be where I am today without her. Her advice helped strengthen Debris, then she pointed me in the right direction and gave me a little shove — ultimately leading to it’s publication with Angry Robot Books.

These women are remarkably generous with their time and expertise, from working on individual stories to providing larger-picture career advice. To me, they are quintessential role models: women who have walked a path that I am keen to follow. They have given me confidence and direction when I needed it most, and they continue to inspire me.

***

Jo Anderton photoJoanne Anderton lives in Sydney with her husband and too many pets. By day she is a mild-mannered marketing coordinator for an Australian book distributor. By night, weekends and lunchtimes she writes science fiction, fantasy, and horror. Her short story collection The Bone Chime Song and Other Stories will be published by Fablecroft Publishing in April 2013. Her debut novel, Debris was published by Angry Robot Books in 2011, followed by Suited in 2012. Debris was shortlisted for the Aurealis award for Best Fantasy Novel, and the Ditmar for Best Novel. Joanne won the 2012 Ditmar for Best New Talent.

